A sad story about my “P”

A part of me is dying,

unless I do a thing or two

It stares at me with a hope

still there’s nothing that I could do

 

It dreams of an open sky,

full of birds reds and whites

It dreams of ins and outs

of the world full of colored lights

 

But its dying is what it believes

it speaks to me with a hope for help

weeps softy in a trembling voice

and opens up with a cry for self

death is closer, it speaks again

death is nearer, it shovels its pain

 

I hold it by my hands,

and I map those little curves

rather wrinkles on a soft skin,

revealing those fettle nerves

death is closer, it speaks again

death is nearer, it shovels its pain

 

More than a year now,

it has barely had any sight

A tight hug was the closest

while resting those inner fights

death is closer, it spoke again

death is nearer, it shoveled its pain

 

Now, I hide it in my secret closet

The thing that I’ve always done

I ask it to have some patience

as inside my heart I’d feel that burn

death is closer, I thought again

death is nearer, I shovel my pain

-J, 1/2/2018

Leave a comment